Mayor and City Council


The Greenville City Council is comprised of a Mayor elected at-large and six single-member district Councilmembers who are elected for three-year terms to represent the citizens of the City of Greenville.



  • Second and fourth Tuesday of each month
  • Work Session begins at 5:00 p.m.; Regular Session begins at 6:00 p.m. (Work Session may begin at 4:00 p.m. or 4:30 p.m. during Budget discussions)
  • City Council Chamber, City Hall
    2821 Washington
    Greenville, TX 75401

Addressing Council - City Council meetings and workshops are open to the public and citizen input is welcome. Citizens may speak at council meetings on agenda and non-agenda items by completing and submitting a Citizens Comment Card. Once you have completed your form, please present your card to the city secretary prior to the start of the meeting.  Cards are available at City Hall on the day of the meeting. The mayor will ask those wishing to address the council to do so at the appropriate time. Please approach the speaker's podium in the center of the Council Chamber, state your name and address for the official meeting records, and discuss the specific agenda item or topic of interest.

The City Council agenda is available on the website 72 hours prior to every meeting. The agendas are posted in the west foyer of City Hall in the glass public notice case adjacent to the City Hall entrance.

The City Charter of Greenville provides for a Council-Manager form of local government. The Mayor and Councilmembers function as the policy-making body of the City's government, determining the overall goals, objectives, and direction for city services, and adopting the annual operating budgets for all City Departments.

Email All City Councilmembers

Terry Thomas 150x225 council pageTerry Thomas
Mayor Pro-Tem Place 1
View Biography
Email T. Thomas

Photo of Philip Spencer City Council Member Place 3Philip Spencer
Place 3
View Biography
Email P. Spencer

Tim Kruse City Council PageTim Kruse
Place 4 
View Biography
Email T. Kruse

Ben Collins 150x225 council pageBen Collins 
Place 5 
View Biography
Email B. Collins

Kenneth Freeman 150x225 council pageKenneth Freeman 
Place 6
View Biography
Email K. Freeman